What Happened When I Talked Sustainability with Two Coaches

Nancy Colasurdo
6 min readJan 31, 2022

Josh Spodek has unplugged his refrigerator because he doesn’t need it anymore. I’m going to start there.

It’s where his journey in being more environmentally conscious led him and frankly that bit of information has the power to scare me right off the whole effort.

You know what else puts the fear of God in me? Talking to an astrophysicist about sustainability.

But nonetheless, this is how I started my year. There were a few times during our interview where I felt like I was in my own little version of Don’t Look Up, a naïve Tyler Perry/Cate Blanchett combo trying to put an important story into a Good Morning America-esque happy package.

I’m not kidding. After watching three TED talks featuring Spodek, I became fascinated by his decision to avoid packaged food as much as possible.

What?

How?

My Italian-American mind went right here: Hmmmm, if I don’t buy packaged pasta I’ll have to make it myself. How would I do that? Wouldn’t all the ingredients come in packages?

This seems like a good time to tell you a bit more about New York-based Spodek with a paragraph directly from his online bio:

--

--

Nancy Colasurdo

Activist Journalist, Opinion Writer, Author, Life Coach in Greater NYC area. Occasional guest columnist at NJ.com. Six-word bio: Zen chick with a Jersey edge.